Wednesday, December 15, 2010

Buy a Book- You Can't Give More Enchantment For Less.
The Fiction Writers Co-Op—48 authors of distinguished, award-winning, and best-selling fiction—recommend:


Dracula in Love by Karen Essex. "...the writing is so vivid, lusciously sexy and chillingly outrageous by turns..." - The Star Ledger

The Last Will of Moira Leahy by Therese Walsh. "This tender tale of sisterhood, self-discovery, and forgiveness will captivate fans of contemporary women’s fiction.”- Library Journal

The Murderer's Daughters by Randy Susan Meyers. "A powerful portrait of sisters growing up in the shadow of violence . . . A thought-provoking, heart-tugging debut." Boston Magazine

The Day the Falls Stood Still by Cathy Marie Buchanan. "A wonderful love story…Buchanan weaves Niagara Falls’ history and her storytelling together masterfully.” − Elle

By Fire, By Water by Mitchell James Kaplan. "Remarkably learned and heartbreaking romantic novel... Despite its medieval setting, the story has contemporary echoes... Hard to put down, beautifully executed, highly recommended." Minneapolis Star Tribune

Simply From Scratch by Alicia Bessette. "Fans of Cecelia Ahern’s PS, I Love You will find a lot to like here ... strong, richly detailed ... with a truly lovable heroine ... the spins and turns the story takes along the way are well worth the ride." —Library Journal

The Love Goddess' Cooking School by Melissa Senate. "Senate handles the hefty topics of loss and remembrances with lightness and respect and in so doing, redefines comfort food." --Publishers Weekly

Seven Year Switch by Claire Cook. "Bestseller Cook [Must Love Dogs, Life's a Beach] charms again with this lively warm-hearted look at changing courses mid-life."
-People Magazine

The Lace Makers of Glenmara by Heather Barbieri. "This hopeful, comforting novel is a testament to the power of taking chances and starting fresh, and a reminder that life can bring joy after sorrow."--Miami Herald

All the Numbers by Judy Merrill Larsen. "Larsen depicts a mother's year of grief and recovery with a sure and honest voice."--Booklist

Spin by Catherine McKenzie. "The tag line is: ‘How far would you go to get what you always wanted?’ and Kate Sandford, protagonist of Catherine McKenzie's first novel, Spin, goes so far she makes you cringe. … Where A Million Little Pieces … was tortured and powerful, Spin is more about entertainment and fun. … Full of pop-culture allusions, some really funny ones. … Spin is a compelling, fast-paced read.” – The Globe and Mail

The Truth About Delilah Blue by Tish Cohen. "Both of Cohen’s previous novels (Town House and Inside Out Girl) are in development as films, and The Truth About Delilah Blue is sure to follow. She is clearly familiar with the cinema’s propulsive rhythms, and has an almost Hitchcockian sense of how to uncoil audience guts and play double dutch with them." --The Globe and Mail

The Bird Sisters by Rebecca Rasmussen, forthcoming from Crown Publishers, April 12th. "A magical debut, original and poignant, lovely and moving. I absolutely loved The Bird Sisters and will carry Milly and Twiss with me as if in a locket for a long, long time." --Jenna Blum, Bestselling Author of Those Who Save Us.

Belong to Me by Marisa de los Santos. "[W]hat happens when life throws us kinks and crumbles the plans we've so carefully laid out . . . There is poetry in her words and all around the world she has created."--Richmond Times-Dispatch

Alice I Have Been by Melanie Benjamin. Diana Gabaldon says of this fictional biography of Alice Liddell, the inspiration for Alice in Wonderland, "This is magic! Childhood, sensuality, love, sorrow and wonder, all bright and complex as the shifting patterns in a kaleidoscope.

Mistress of the Sun by Sandra Gulland. "Here's a warning: Mistress of the Sun is dangerously seductive. It's one of those books that will grab you and hold you captive till the last page is turned." —Calgary Herald

Stay by Allie Larkin. "Larkin makes writing look easy. Stay has everything...humor, heart -and, endearingly, buckets of dog slobber." —The Miami Herald

Kings of the Earth by Jon Clinch. Robert Goolrick calls it "eloquent and moving, written with precision and clarity to stave off loss — the loss of history, of art, of humanity." O Magazine's lead pick for summer reading, and a Washington Post Best Novel of 2010.

My Husband's Sweethearts by Bridget Asher. "... rendered with humor and heart." -- People "... a laugh-and-cry novel whose plot includes equal portions of heartache and hope." -- The Chicago Tribune

The Girl Who Fell From the Sky by Heidi W. Durrow. Chosen by Barbara Kingsolver for the Bellwether Prize for Fiction, "Durrow's powerful novel is poised to find a place among classic stories of the American experience." --Miami Herald. A Washington Post Best Novel of 2010!

The Confessions of Catherine de Medici by C.W. GortnerPower. Passion. Poison: History's most notorious queen tells us her side of the story. "Fans of Alison Weir and Philippa Gregory will devour this!" - BookList.

Souvenir by Therese Fowler. An IndieBound selection and book club favorite, this novel about family, fate, regret and redemption is "truly impossible to put down.--Booklist. USA Today says it's "Compelling...the characters are likable, troubled, and human, and are well worth following on their journey."

After You by Julie Buxbaum. Jodi Picoult says of this novel about love and friendship: "Buxbaum writes with honesty and grace about the things we know about our friends and the things we wish we didn't. After You highlights—beautifully and compellingly—the truth that sometimes we have to lose the people closest to us to find ourselves."

Children of the Waters by Carleen Brice Jacquelyn Mitchard author,The Deep End of the Ocean, says of this novel about what really makes a family:
"I was exhausted and singing the blues the hour I began Carleen Brice's new novel, Children of the Waters. Five hours later, I'd finished this fresh, free-rein novel about mothers' secrets and children's sorrows and was shouting 'Hurray!'"

Claude and Camille by Stephanie Cowell, the story of Claude Monet in his young struggling years which led to the birth of impressionism and his great love for his model and wife , the tragic Camille. The Boston Globe said, "an enthralling story, beautifully told" and Bookpage added, "A vivid portrait of Monet's remarkable career."

Remedies by Kate Ledger. Remedies explores the complicated nature of pain, in the nerves of the body and the longing of the heart.... "an immediately gripping, expertly woven tale of pain and healing. Ledger is a brilliant writer; the book is dazzling, but more importantly, it is moving."--Elin Hilderbrand


Shelter Me by Juliette Fay “What a gorgeous paradox of a book: a deep, thoughtful exploration of a young mother’s first year of widowhood that is as much a page-turner as any thriller" says bestselling author Marisa de los Santos. Publishers Weekly deemed it "a wise and inspirational debut."

15 comments:

Nora B. Peevy said...

Hi,

From one author to another, I love your greeting on your blog! I write fantasy and horror.

Hope to see you drop in on my blog sometime. I am originally from Wisconsin and am now a transplanted Texan.

-Nora
http://norabpeevy.blogspot.com/

Shirley Kirsten said...

Discovered you as companion blogger at Publishers Marketplace. I did a stint as a substitute teacher as well..more camaraderie. Like your derring do, "F" word. It made me chuckle since my fledgling video editor daughter made a short film involving the "F" word with double entendre.. applied to Fresno, California. (www.youtube.com/keviva007)
Just to remind I'm the pianist, teacher, recording artist who has the overflowing journal about everything piano. (at PM and elsewhere)
http://arioso7.wordpress.com

Shawn said...

Listen my daughter and I ready avidly. I spend more money on books than clothes for us...lol We read fiction, science fiction, fantasy, love stories, all kinds of books..lol My mother instilled in me and my daughter the love of reading and I will thank her every day. She has passed now but she did get to read all of Harry potter before she died of cancer. I do so miss her. anyway I digress. I just wanted to tell you this.

Carolina said...

Hello! I would like to introduce you our new browser based game eRepublik!
You can become a virtual citizen of one of 38 virtual countries and participate in its political, military and economic life.
You can become an ordinary soldier, company owner or run for presidential seat and become the leader of the whole country!
You can focus on your own career or help your country in battles. You can organize your own private army or invest in your business, its all your choice!
If you would like to give it a try, you can join us by clicking the following link:
http://tinyurl.com/d3brm2c

outlooksoft said...

Greetings! Another wonderful blog from you.

ikinci el eşya said...

the super science fiction films are tired of the ordinary events of daily. for the first time an event is different and you can see at any moment may encounter. therefore they are not ordinary love

crobl005 said...

 - Could a belief in immortality affect an individual’s character?
 - Would an afterlife existence be boring or monotonous?
 - Does death provide a meaning to life?
 - Can we learn about the meaning of life from pondering about immortality?

vuhelp.net said...

So nice blogger

David James said...

Best Protein Powders that will makes sense to end up getting effective stability then again that could be generally the best protein powders. Because of the best protein powders look after body toning. Necessary protein is definitely necessary for thorough fitness.

Whitsblog.com said...

I really love the theme of your blog. Overcoming your fears is one of the most powerful and life changing things you can ever do, I've overcome mine and it was the best choice I ever made. Your writing is awesome.

Farsheel Pulikkal said...

Nice blog,, I like Your Blog Design :)

WorldCup 2015 Live Score

Yahoo contact telephone number uk said...

WOW !. nice post. I wish you to check Yahoo contact telephone number uk

BT password reset said...

Great post and thanks for share a good piece of content with us.

Hotmail helpline said...

Amazing! Thanks for showing a nice blog. I really like it.

Homes for rent said...

Such a nice and very informative post.